This is not a site for personal disclosure of mental health distress, suicidal thoughts or behaviours. If you are in crisis, please call 911 or go to your nearest emergency department for assistance.

Anti-Racism Resources

Crisis Services Canada: https://www.crisisservicescanada.ca/en/looking-for-local-resources-support/


Resources for Black youth in our network:

Black Emotional Mental Health Toolkits and resources: https://www.beam.community/tool-kits-education

Therapy for Black Girls: https://therapyforblackgirls.com/

Jessica Wilson, MS. RD. https://www.instagram.com/jessicawilson.msrd/

Dr. Mariel Buquè https://www.instagram.com/dr.marielbuque/

Black Mental Health Visibility https://www.instagram.com/blackmentalhealthvisibility/

Therapy for Black Men https://therapyforblackmen.org/

Grief is a direct impact of racism: Eight ways to support yourself https://theconversation.com/grief-is-a-direct-impact-of-racism-eight-ways-to-support-yourself-91750
 


Places to keep learning and unlearning:

A Different Booklist: https://www.adifferentbooklist.com/?q=h

Resources compiled by Black Lives Matter: https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/#educate

Black History Month Library: https://drive.google.com/drive/u/0/folders/0Bz011IF2Pu9TUWIxVWxybGJ1Ync

10 Documentaries to watch about race: https://www.docplay.com/articles/10-documentaries-to-watch-about-race-instead-of-asking-a-person-of-colour-to-explain-things-for-you/

Essential movies from Black Filmmakers confronting systemic racism in America: https://www.esquire.com/entertainment/movies/g32742390/movies-about-race/

Do the Work: an Anti-Racist Reading List: https://www.theguardian.com/books/booksblog/2020/jun/03/do-the-work-an-anti-racist-reading-list-layla-f-saad

Inclusive Therapists https://www.inclusivetherapists.com/resources

Decolonizing Therapy https://www.instagram.com/decolonizingtherapy/

How Restorative Yoga Can Help Heal Racial Wounding https://www.yogajournal.com/practice/how-restorative-yoga-can-help-heal-racial-wounding



Guides on allyship for non-Black folks:

Navigating the Conflict Zone and Becoming an Ally: https://ccdi.ca/media/1590/toolkit-4-navigating-the-conflict-zone-and-becoming-an-ally.pdf

Compilation of resources on how to be an ally: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/u/1/d/1bUJrgX8vspyy7YttiEC2vD0DawrpPYiZs94V0ov7qZQ/htmlview

Anti-racism resources for white people: https://docs.google.com/document/u/0/d/1BRlF2_zhNe86SGgHa6-VlBO-QgirITwCTugSfKie5Fs/mobilebasic

What is Allyship: https://www.linkedin.com/posts/erik-wexler-he-him-666818135_we-dont-get-to-decide-if-we-are-allies-activity-6673302214708092928-IdrQ

A Guide to White Privilege: https://www.instagram.com/p/CAY3zsrHSzf/

10 Steps to Non-Optical Allyship: https://www.instagram.com/p/CA04VKDAyjb/

How to Ally: Dos and Don’ts: https://www.instagram.com/p/CA8FJhIhhRt/

The Guide to Allyship: https://guidetoallyship.com/

Resources on Allyship and Solidarity: https://unistoten.camp/no-pipelines/resources/allyship/

5 Tips For Being An Ally: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_dg86g-QlM0

Being Antiracist: https://nmaahc.si.edu/learn/talking-about-race/topics/being-antiracist

So You Want to Talk About Race - Talks at Google: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TnybJZRWipg

Mona Chalabi: Visual Representations of Data on Social Issues, including Race: https://www.instagram.com/monachalabi/

Racism and Violence: How to Help Kids Handle The News: https://www.facebook.com/watch/live/?v=673076123472542&ref=watch_permalink

 

Places to donate:

Black Youth Helpline: https://blackyouth.ca/

Black Health Alliance: http://blackhealthalliance.ca/

Black Women in Motion: https://blackwomeninmotion.org/

The Black Mental Health Matters Fund: https://ca.gofundme.com/f/a-fund-for-blackled-mental-health-supports